I love to immerse myself in my surroundings. This is when I feel most alive. When I can truly be there, in the moment, taking in everything about it.

Last evening is a great example. The day had been rough, I’d had a panic attack and couldn’t defuse myself from my thoughts. I couldn’t think about being in the moment because all I could think about was anxiety.

Then my housemates came home and I dragged myself down stairs to make dinner with them. I spent the evenings with my friends, totally forgetting the rest of the day and was finally able to distance myself from the panic attack.

It was great to be immersed in my friends. They make me laugh and cheer me up. I feel at home with them. They make me remember that although I have anxiety it’s just one part of my life, and in fact I can have anxiety and still be with the people who make me happy. I love being able to be absorbed into their fold and to feel like I am okay again, because it can be hard to know everything will be okay when you feel totally the opposite.

via Daily Prompt: Immerse

Leave a Reply

